National Centre for Animal Health

Serbithang, Thimphu Dzongkhag


The National Centre for Animal Health (NCAH) is located about 15 km away from Thimphu, the capital city of Bhutan. It started off as a laboratory in 1978 at Chubachu and later was named as Royal Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory and shifted to Serbithang in 1981 under an UNDP/FAO project. It was subsequently strengthened under EU assistance between 1991 and 1999 and was renamed as Royal Veterinary Epidemiology Centre (RVEC). The centre was responsible for under taking disease investigation, conduct basic animal health research, provide technical backstopping to the Dzongkhags and confirm animal disease diagnosis in the country on routine basis. RVEC was renamed as NCAH in 2005 The National Centre for Animal Health (NCAH) is one of the central programs under the Department of Livestock, Ministry of Agriculture & Forests. It is the national focal agency for all matters related to animal health in the country. It also functions as the focal agency for referral of laboratory samples to the regional and world reference laboratories. It is responsible for planning, execution and monitoring of disease prevention and control programs in the country. It is also the focal agency for implementation of essential veterinary drug program (EVDP), procurement/production & distribution of vaccines. It coordinates and implements research and training in animal health in liaison with the relevant institutes.

Long Term Objectives

To eradicate as many livestock and zoonotic diseases as possible and enhance livestock production thereby contributing to rural economy.

To develop trained personnel at all level in the field of animal health.

To maintain epidemiological database for major livestock and poultry diseases for effective implementation of disease control programs.

Short Term Objectives

Provide quality and prompt referral laboratory diagnostic services.

Improve animal health delivery services including strengthening of linkage with the Regional Livestock Development Centres (RLDCs) and other field units.

The centre coordinates all national level animal health programs in collaboration with the four RLDCs and the Dzongkhags. The four major units at NCAH.  Laboratory Services Unit (LSU), Disease Prevention and Control Unit (DPCU), Drugs Vaccines and Equipment Unit (DVEU) and Biological Production Unit (BPU).

Units under National Centre for Animal Health

Laboratory Services Unit

This unit has 7 sections: Bacteriology, Serology & Virology, Toxicology & Bio-chemistry, Parasitology, Post-mortem and Pathology, Hematology and Bio-safety & Bio-security Sections and each section under the LSU is equipped with advanced diagnostic facilities for diagnosis of important livestock diseases in the country.

Disease Prevention and Control Unit

This unit has 3 section:  Epidemiology & GIS section, Veterinary Public Health, Clinical Service Section

Biological Production Unit

Drug Vaccine & Equipment Unit